Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPHm

Mark R. Chassin, MD, FACP, MPP, MPHm

President and CEO, The Joint Commission

Academic qualifications:

Dr. Chassin received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Harvard University. He holds a master’s degree in public policy from Kennedy School of Government at Harvard, and a master’s degree in public health from UCLA.

Work experiences:

In this role, he oversees the activities of the nation’s leading accrediting body in health care. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized worldwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to quality improvement and to meeting state-of- the-art performance standards. Dr. Chassin is also president of the Joint Commission Center for Transforming Healthcare. Established in 2009 under Dr. Chassin’s leadership, the Center works with the nation’s leading hospitals and health systems to address health care’s most critical safety and quality problems such as health care-associated infection (HAI), hand-off communications, wrong site surgery, surgical site infections, and preventing avoidable heart failure hospitalizations. The Center is developing solutions through the application of the same Robust Process Improvement ® (RPI) methods and tools that other industries rely on to improve quality, safety, and efficiency. In keeping with its objective to transform health care into a high reliability industry, The Joint Commission shares these proven effective solutions with the more than 22,000 health care organizations and programs it accredits and certifies.

Previously, Dr. Chassin was the Guggenheim Professor of Health Policy; founding Chairman of the Department of Health Policy at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York; and Executive Vice President for Excellence in Patient Care at The Mount Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Chassin also served as Commissioner of the New York State Department of Health. He is a board-certified internist and practiced emergency medicine for 12 years, and is a member of the National Academy of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.



× Chat with us on Whatsapp.